SAFTAs14 a night of the Mzansi Magic newcomers

30 April 2020
Your favourite new shows scooped a number of awards at this year’s SAFTAs. Take a look at who one and celebrate South African talent.
mzansi magic saftas article

The South African Film and Television Awards winners were announced online last night with host Dineo Ranaka. The red carpet, cheese board and glitz and glam may have been missing this year due to the lockdown, but there was champagne, the best in South African talent and much cause for celebration.

It was a night for the Mzansi Magic newcomers as the first seasons of The Republic won seven awards including Best TV Drama.

Lead actress and Madam President on the show, Florence Masebe as well as legendary actor Seputla Sebogodi, who played the effervescent and ambitious, Moses walked away with their first SAFTAs for Best Actress in a TV Drama and Best Supporting Actor in a TV Drama respectively. 

Newcomer and Mzansi epic, Ifalakhe was also recognised with two awards for Best Achievement in Wardrobe as well as the award for Best Achievement in Make-up and Hairstyling.

The Queen’s Loyiso Macdonald won the shows first SAFTA as he scooped the Golden Horn for the Best Supporting Actor in a telenovela.

New show iThemba also did not walk away empty handed as actress Brenda Ngxoli won the Golden Horn for Best Supporting Actress in a TV Drama.

Our fav newlywed and Idols SA judge Somizi’s reality show, Living the Dream with Somizi took the Best Structured or Docu-Reality Show award.

Isibaya, which is now in its eighth season took the SAFTA for Best Achievement in Original Music/Score.

For a closer look at your SAFTAs winners, take a look below:

Best Achievement In Original Music/Score – Telenovela

Isibaya  –  Philip Miller

Best Supporting Actor- Telenovela

Loyiso MacDonald (Kagiso)  – The Queen

Best Achievement in Directing -TV Drama

The Republic – Johnny Barbuzano & Rea Rangaka

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting -TV Drama

The Republic – Phathutshedzo Makwarela & Gwydion Beynon

Best Achievement in Sound - TV Drama

The Republic – Ben Oelsen & Juli Vanden Berg

Best Achievement in Wardrobe - TV Drama

Ifalakhe – Heidi Riss, Monique Lamprecht & Nerine Pienaar

Best Achievement in Make-Up and Hairstyling- TV Drama

Ifalakhe – Ronwyn Jarrett

Best Achievement in Cinematography - TV Drama

The Republic – Ntobeko Dlamini

Best Actress -TV Drama

Florence Masebe (Lufuno) – The Republic

Best Actor -TV Drama

Wiseman Mncube (Jama) – eHostela

Best Supporting Actress - TV Drama

Brenda Ngxoli (Nomonde) – iThemba

Best Supporting Actor -TV Drama

Seputla Sebogodi (Moses) – The Republic

Best TV Drama

The Republic – Tshedza Pictures

Best Structured or Docu-reality Show

Living The Dream With Somizi Season 4 – Barleader TV