All the winners at the 2021 kykNET Fiëstas

Highlights 08 March 2021

The kykNET Fiëstas, which was recorded beforehand for the first time, honours outstanding performances in the performing arts since 2011. Here are all the winners from the 11th annual event.

All the winners at the 2021 kykNET Fiëstas

“When COVID-19 hit South Africa last year, the world didn’t stop revolving and artists didn’t stop being artists. Festivals were cancelled, theatres were left in the dark and the world shrunk – closed until further notice. Artists had to experiment and find new platforms to survive. The Afrikaans festivals took the lead and brought about a revolution through various innovative projects.

“The result was such a great number of new online and virtual performances that we introduced new categories this year to acknowledge all the outstanding work. Thank you to each artist who continued to work to bring light in a very dark time during the pandemic,” said Karen Meiring, M-Net Director: kykNET Channels, at the 11th kykNET Fiëstas, which was broadcast on Sunday, 7 March, at 20:00 on kykNET (DStv channel).

The kykNET Fiëstas, which was recorded beforehand for the first time, honours outstanding performances in the performing arts since 2011. Despite a very challenging year, it was decided to still honour the arts and artists. This year’s nominees and winners were chosen by the Fiëstas panel of judges – Herman van der Westhuizen (convenor of the Fiëstas panel), Ronnie Samaai, Eduard Greyling, Gillian Mitchell, Laetitia Pople, Diane de Beer, Robyn van de Rhede, Jill Markram, Martli Jordaan, Maulise Kotze, Ilza Roggeband, Mariana Malan and CJ de Swardt.

There were various highlights during the awards ceremony, with winners delivering emotional acceptance speeches and legends being honoured with beautiful words by friends and colleagues. Three young artists were also surprised with a Sinjatuur award. These awards go to artists who have achieved great things so far in their careers.

Anna-Mart van der Merwe, who also received the award for Best Actress, surprised Cintaine Schutte with a Sinjatuur award with the following words: “Your presence in our industry is incredibly valuable. This award serves as recognition and motivation for you – for you to know that we see you, that the industry appreciates you and to tell you that you are on the right path.”

Karen Zoid accepted her award for Best Music-driven Production: Open-air and Podium with the following words: “I want to dedicate this award to all the musicians who are struggling at the moment. We aren’t beggars; we don’t play for tips. The creative industry has been left broken, but we are creative people and I want to say to everyone, let’s figure this out together. We can, and we must stand together.”

kykNET is a proud supporter of the Tribuo fund which was founded to support freelance artists during the pandemic. The fund has helped more than 300 artists so far. All the 11th kykNET Fiëstas nominees received two Checkers vouchers – they could give one of these vouchers to another artist or a deserving organisation.

Karen Meiring’s final words at the awards ceremony were moving: “To each artist: may you, as many times in the past after a crisis, take lead, and comfort and energise audiences. We acknowledge and appreciate you and look forward to seeing you on the stage once again.”

Here are the winners of the 11th kykNET Fiëstas:

Best Actor

Robert Hindley


Best Actress

Anna-Mart van der Merwe


Best Director

Frieda van den Heever

Die poet, wie’s hy?

Theatre Design

Charl-Johan Lingenfelder

Die poet, wie’s hy?

Best New Afrikaans Text, Adaptation or Translation

Frieda van den Heever and Dean Balie

Die poet, wie’s hy?

Best Achievement in Classical Music

Bryan Wallick, Frank Dean, Balie Stadler and Peter Martens

Beethoven Triple Concerto

Best Achievement in Visual Arts

Dineke van der Walt

KKNK Virtual Gallery

Best Music-driven Production: Open-air and Podium

Karen Zoid

Karen Zoid 20 jaar Pops

Best Music-driven Production: Theatre

Charl-Johan Lingenfelder

Die poet, wie’s hy?

Best Online Festival Project

Alfred Hinkle

Dans van die heenkoms

Best Festival Production

Die poet, wie’s hy?


Best Up-and-coming Artist

Robert Hindley



Cintaine Schutte

De Klerk Oelofse

Dean Balie


Bob Martin

Nic de Jager

Terry Fortune

Blue Fiësta

Jana Hattingh

Suidoosterfees Drive-in

The Tribuo fund was found in collaboration with Karen Meiring (kykNET), Cornelia Faasen (NATi) and the Feesteforum (Aardklop, KKNK, Innibos, Suidoosterfees, Vrystaatfees and the Toyota US Woordfees) to support freelance artists. The fund is dependent on contributions by supporters who would like to help the arts during this difficult time. Contributions can be made by a private person, corporate institutions or philanthropic donors. 18A tax certificates will be issued on request. Contributions can be made anonymously or contributors can be acknowledged as a donor to the fund.

How to watch DStv online

Get the DStv app, a free service for DStv subscribers. With the DStv app, the same channels you watch on your decoder at home are available for you to stream online at or by using the DStv app on your phone.

Feel every moment with DStv

Back to News

Watch it Online

Sign up for DStv – it’s an online streaming service for all DStv subscribers. Watch the channels you watch on your decoder at home, on the Internet! Go to on your laptop and Catch Up on the episodes you missed.

Dstv Now DStv Now Huawei AppGallery
what to watch