DStv Compact Cup

Excitement around the DStv Compact Cup has shifted up a notch as the Premier Soccer League (PSL) alongside DStv, officially unveiled the four DStv Compact Cup squads as well as their respective technical teams.

At the beginning of the festive season, Mzansi football fans were handed the ultimate viewer’s choice when the PSL invited fans to cast their votes and help select squad members for each of the four regional teams. Football fans answered the call and selected their favourite players who will now take part in the tournament that kicks off on Saturday, 22 January 2022.

Stream SuperSport now

Speaking from the official squad announcement at the PSL headquarters in Parktown, Johannesburg, Multichoice South Africa CEO, Nyiko Shiburi expressed his excitement on the positive engagement and feedback displayed by football fans since the launch of the innovative DStv Compact Cup competition.

“We are excited to see the overwhelmingly positive response to the DStv Compact Cup from the fans. Football in South Africa has always been the game of the people. It was in this spirit that we came up with the viewer’s choice, and asked fans to choose the players they wanted to see take the field as part of the four regional teams that will take part in this tournament.

This goes to show that fans have been longing for an opportunity to engage further and directly with their favourite clubs. Working closely with the PSL, we want to assure fans that they can expect pure entertainment and never seen before football action in a competition that is living up to its theme and promise of being “The Viewer’s Choice”, said Shiburi.

The DStv Compact Cup regional squads comprising of eight defenders, eight midfielders, four strikers, two goalkeepers as well as four DStv Diski Challenge players have been confirmed.

Back to News

The PSL also conducted a draw to determine the technical teams, which was confirmed as follows:

Amabutho Ernst Middendorp Abram Nteo Davies Phiri Gerhard Van Der Merwe
Coastal United FC Steve Barker Job Maphutha Jorge Escano Tsosholosho Manamela
Dinaledi FC Daniel Malesela David Notoane Thembalethu Moses Innocent Mchunu
Warriors FC Dylan Kerr Fani Madida Thuso Motlhosi Percy Moloi

Watch the DStv Compact Cup from Saturday, 22 January 2022 on SuperSport.

Download and watch later

Get the DStv app (Apple, Android or Huawei) and download episodes to watch on your phone or tablet – just remember to connect to the Wi-Fi first so there are no surprise data costs.