Know your partner's love language

23 July 2015
Know your partner's love language Image : 541

Marriage is a beautiful thing. It's a hand to hold when you feel like you're sinking. It's a soft pillow to rest your head on. It's laughs at dinner, it's never having to be a lone. Marriage is a lot of beautiful things when you and your partner are in sync. But if you and your partner don't know how to love one another, it can be strenuous. Each person has a language in which they express love and how they would like to receive love. Below are each of the five recognised love languages, developed by Gary Chapman.

1. Quality time

If your spouse's love language is quality time, giving him or her your undivided attention is one of the best ways you can show your love. Some men pride themselves on being able to watch television, read a magazine, and listen to their wives, all at the same time. That is an admirable trait, but it is not speaking the love language of quality time.

Instead, you must turn off the TV, lay the magazine down, look into your mate's eyes, and listen and interact. To your spouse, 20 minutes of your undivided attention – listening and conversing – is like a 20-minute refill of his or her love tank.

Men, if you really want to impress your wife, the next time she walks into the room while you are watching a sporting event, put the television on mute and don't take your eyes off her as long as she's in the room. If she engages you in conversation, turn the TV off and give her your undivided attention. You will score a thousand points and her love tank will be overflowing.

2. Physical touch
In marriage, the love language of physical touch includes everything from putting a hand on your mate's shoulder as you walk by, touching his or her leg as you're driving together, and holding hands while you're walking to kissing, embracing and sexual intercourse.

If physical touch is your spouse's primary love language, nothing communicates love more clearly than for you to take the initiative to reach out and touch your mate.

3. Word of affirmation
If your spouse's primary love language is words of affirmation, your spoken praise and appreciation will fall like rain on parched soil. Before long, you will see new life sprouting in your marriage as your spouse responds to your words of love.

4. Acts of service
Do you remember the old saying, "Actions speak louder than words"? For some people, that is particularly true of love. If acts of service is your spouse's primary love language, nothing will speak more deeply to him or her emotionally than simple acts of service.

To show your spouse that you love them, help them do the dishes, offer to wash their car, or tell them you'll take out the rubbish that day. Doing things that lighten their load will prove your love to them.

5. Gifts

In every society throughout human history, gift giving has been perceived as an expression of love. Giving gifts is universal, because there is something inside the human psyche that says if you love someone, you will give to him or her.

What many people do not understand is that for some people, receiving gifts is their primary love language. It's the thing that makes them feel loved most deeply. If you're married to someone whose primary love language is gift giving, you will make your spouse feel loved and treasured by giving gifts on birthdays, holidays, anniversaries and "no occasion" days.

The gifts need not be expensive or elaborate; it's the thought that counts. Even something as simple as a homemade card or a few cheerful flowers will communicate your love to your spouse. Little things mean a lot to a person whose primary love language is receiving gifts.

Find out what your love language is here. Take the couples' love languages test here

Watch Our Perfect Wedding every Sunday at 19:00 on Mzansi Magic DStv channel 161. Like our Facebook page and follow us on Twitter. Join the conversation every Sunday using the hashtag #OurPerfectWedding