the river s2
web uni

The River


1 Magic Stars Win Big at 13th Annual SAFTAs

04 March 2019
1 Magic's The River walked away with 10 awards at the SAFTAs13 this past weekend.
SAFTAs 1M_MOST POPULAR TV SOAP _ TELENOVELA_Insta Post 1080 x 1080_The River

South Africa’s film and television talent and content producers once again descended upon Sun City for this year’s instalment of the South African Film & Television Awards this weekend.

The star-studded awards show, hosted by the Metro FM duo Pearl Modiadie and Thomas Msengana celebrated the country’s film & television talent, with winners walking away with the coveted Golden Horn in various categories, decided for by a panel of 250 judges.

The popular Telenovela, The River, scooped 10 awards, making it the highest winning television production at the SAFTAs this year.

NFVF’s Acting CEO, Shadrack Bokaba commented on the night’s success stories saying, “With the SAFTAs, the NFVF looks to celebrate the industry as a whole while being able to outline some of the inroads made in the industry and I believe that this weekend, we certainly did that. Well done to all the winners.”

The SAFTAs13 winners are as follows:

1. Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – Telenovela

The River - Gwydion Beynon & Phathutshedzo Makwarela

2. Best Achievement in Original Music/ Score – Telenovela

The River - Brendan Jury

3. Best Achievement in Editing - Telenovela

The River - Ula Oelsen, Bongi Malefo & Matodzi Nemungadi

4. Best Achievement in Sound -Telenovela

The River - Ben Oelsen, Lele Seate & Tladi Mabuya

5. Best Achievement in Cinematography - Telenovela

The River - Gaopie Kabe & Trevor Brown

6. Best Achievement in Directing - Telenovela

The River - Johnny Barbuzano, Catharine Cooke, Zolani Phakade & Ferry Jele

7. Best Actress-Telenovela

Moshidi Motshegwa - Malefu - The River

8. Best Actor-Telenovela

Presley Chweneyagae - Cobra - The River

9. Best Supporting Actor- Telenovela

Lawrence Maleka - Zolani - The River

10. Best Telenovela

The River - Tshedza Pictures CC

See the full list of winners here.