Congratulations to all the #SavannaCCA Winners

10 September 2018
See the list of winners from the 8th Annual Savanna Comics' Choice Awards.
savanna comics choice awards 2018 winners

Hundreds of comedy fans took to the popular Lyric Theatre in Johannesburg's Gold Reef City, to attend the Savanna Comics' Choice Awards. Now in its 8th year, the comics awards honours and recognises comedians across the African continent.

The biggest winner of the night was Durban-based comedian Carvin Goldstone who walked away with two awards, namely the Savanna Comic of the Year Award as well as the Flying Solo Award, beating fan-favourites Celeste Ntuli and Skhumba Hlophe.

A new face in the comedy scene, Tsitsi Chiumya, walked away with the Newcomer of the Year Award. Although he joined comedy in 2016, he's already travelled and performed internationally.

Pieter-Dirk Uys was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his major contribution to the industry in the past 40 years.

Here is a full list of the winners in 2018:

Comedy G Award–David Kau

Next Level Award –Phil de Lange

The Native Tongue Award –Siya Seya

The Flying Solo Award –Carvin Goldstone

The Comic Pen’s Award –Kagiso Lediga

Best Friend of Comedy Award –Gino Fernandez

The Game Changer Award –Loyiso Gola

The Savanna Comic of the Year Award –Carvin Goldstone

The Savanna Pan-African Comic of the Year –Basketmouth (Nigeria)

The Chatz Connect Audience Choice Award –Abuti Lolo