Africa’s Most-loved Storyteller Scoops Over 45 Awards at SAFTA 2020

30 April 2020
The big winners at the SAFTAs 2020 were The River's producers, Tshedza Pictures.

MultiChoice Group (MCG) has reaped the rewards of its investment in local talent at the 14th annual South African Film & Television Awards (SAFTAs), picking up more than 45 awards for television shows and feature films, broadcast on its platforms.

More than 150 shows and films available on MultiChoice platforms were nominated for awards at this year’s SAFTAs. The big winners were The River and The Republic, producers, Tshedza Pictures, who scooped 17 awards in total. South Africa’s official 2019 Oscars entry, Knuckle City, bagged 6 awards, following a successful international festival run.

MCG is firmly positioned as Africa's most-loved storyteller and is the foremost provider of award-winning sport and entertainment content through over 70 proprietary and international channels in 50 countries on the African continent.

“MultiChoice has made a substantial investment in locally-produced content, aiming to share our incredible African stories with the world,” says Nkateko Mabaso: CEO of M-Net. “It’s an incredibly proud moment to see these award-winning stories being recognised at the 14th SAFTAs.”

MCG continues to invest in local content year-on-year in line with the growing demand from its customers. “Our 152 nominations are a testament to the fact that Africa’s most-loved storyteller continues to deliver the best in local content,” says Mabaso. “Beyond entertainment, it’s just as rewarding to see how our investments in infrastructure, technology and development initiatives are empowering a supply chain which supports local businesses and communities”.

Through development initiatives such as the MultiChoice Talent Factory South Africa (MTFza), MCG is inspiring and empowering a new generation of young talent in the film and TV industry, which the company sees as critical for the growth and sustainability of the continent’s video entertainment industry.

“These awards are not only a great reflection of the broad local content offering available for our customers across our large selection of channels but is also compelling evidence that our investment in local content both works and matters,” adds Mabaso. “This is the magic that has made us Africa’s most-loved storyteller.”

The SAFTAs were established to celebrate, promote and highlight the excellence of local talent and content production which continues to encourage the growth of talent within the South African film and television industry.

The full list of awards for shows and films which have a home on the MultiChoice platform is:

  • Best Achievement in Directing – Telenovela: The River (Ferry Jele, Catharine Cooke, Zolani Phakade & Johnny Barbuzano)
  • Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – Telenovela: The River (Gwydion Beynon, Phathutshedzo Makwarela, Christa Biyela, Lebogang Mogashoa & Mamello Lebona)
  • Best Achievement in Scriptwriting – TV Soap: Getroud met Rugby (Writing team)
  • Best Achievement In Original Music/Score – Telenovela: Isibaya (Philip Miller)
  • Best Achievement in Editing – Telenovela: The River (Bongi Malefo, Matodzi Nemungadi & Ula Oelsen)
  • Best Achievement in Sound - TV Soap/Telenovela: The River (Ben Oelsen, Juli Vanden Berg & Tladi Steven Mabuya)
  • Best Achievement in Cinematography – Telenovela: The River (Alice Mataboge)
  • Best Achievement in  Make-Up and Hairstyling- TV Soap/Telenovela: The River (Bongi Mlotshwa)
  • Best Achievement in Art Direction - TV Soap/Telenovela: Arendsvlei (Beatrix van Zyl)
  • Best Actress -Telenovela: Sindi Dlathu (The River)
  • Best Actor -Telenovela: Roberto Kyle (Arendsvlei)
  • Best Supporting Actress – Telenovela: Mary-Anne Barlow (The River)
  • Best Supporting Actor – Telenovela: Loyiso MacDonald (The Queen)
  • Best Actress -TV Soap: Denise Newman (Suidooster)
  • Best Telenovela: The River (Tshedza Pictures)
  • Best Achievement in Directing - TV Drama: The Republic (Johnny Barbuzano & Rea Rangaka)
  • Best Achievement in Scriptwriting - TV Drama: The Republic (Phathutshedzo Makwarela & Gwydion Beynon)
  • Best Achievement in Editing - TV Drama: Spreeus (Leon Visser)
  • Best Achievement in Sound  - TV Drama: The Republic (Ben Oelsen & Juli Vanden Berg)
  • Best  Achievement in Original Music/Score - TV Drama: Spreeus (Pierre-Henri Wicomb)
  • Best Achievement in Wardrobe - TV Drama: Ifalakhe (Heidi Riss, Monique Lamprecht & Nerine Pienaar)
  • Best Achievement in Make-Up and Hairstyling - TV Drama: Ifalakhe (Ronwyn Jarrett)
  • Best Achievement in Cinematography - TV Drama: The Republic (Ntobeko Dlamini)
  • Best Actress - TV Drama: Florence Masebe  (The Republic)
  • Best Actor - TV Drama: Wiseman Mncube ( eHostela)
  • Best Supporting Actress - TV Drama: Brenda Ngxoli ( iThemba)
  • Best Supporting Actor - TV Drama: Seputla Sebogodi (The Republic)
  • Best TV Drama: The Republic (Tshedza Pictures) 
  • Best Natural History and Environmental Programme: STROOP - journey into the rhino horn war (Scott & de Bod Films)
  • Best Structured or Docu-reality Show: Living The Dream With Somizi Season 4 (Barleader TV)
  • International Format Show: Celebrity Game Night S1 (Rapid Blue) 
  • Best Factual & Educational Programme: Op Seer Se Spoor (Gambit Films)
  • Best Variety Show: Mooi (Afrokaans Film & Television)
  • Best Youth Programme: MTV Shuga Down South 2 (Quizzical Pictures)
  • Best Entertainment Programme: Emo: 30 Jaar In Musiek (All Star Productions) 
  • Best Lifestyle Programme: Elders: Japan (Bonanza Films)
  • Best Made for TV Movie: Droomman (Deon Opperman Produksies)
  • Best Achievement in Directing - Feature Film: Knuckle City (Jahmil XT Qubeka)
  • Best Achievement in Scriptwriting - Feature Film: Fiela se Kind (Brett Michael Innes)
  • Best Achievement in Cinematography - Feature Film: Die Verhaal van Racheltjie de Beer ( Willie Nel) 
  • Best Achievement in Sound Design - Feature Film: Die Verhaal van Racheltjie de Beer (Jim Petrak)
  • Best Achievement in Original Music/Score - Feature Film: Die Verhaal van Racheltjie de Beer (Chris Letcher)
  • Best Achievement in Editing – Feature Film: Knuckle City (Layla Swart)
  • Best Achievement in Production Design – Feature Film: Knuckle City (TK Khampepe & Justice Nhlapo)
  • Best Achievement in Costume Design – Feature Film: Back of the Moon (Trudi Mantzios)
  • Best Achievement in Make-Up and Hairstyling - Feature Film: Knuckle City (Carol Babalwa Mtshiselwa)
  • Best Actress - Feature Film: Clementine Mosimane (Poppie Nongena)
  • Best Actor – Feature Film: Bongile Mantsai (Knuckle City
  • Best Supporting Actress - Feature Film: Anna-Mart van der Merwe (Poppie Nongena)
  • Best Supporting Actor - Feature Film: Patrick Ndlovu (Knuckle City)
  • Best Feature Film: Fiela se Kind (The Film Factory and Nostalgia Productions)
  • Lifetime Achiever Award: Thembi Mtshali-Jones
  • Youth Achiever Award: Thabo Welcome
  • Outstanding Person with Disability Contributor Award: Boitshoko Keabetswe, Malebo Matlhage 
  • Outstanding Provincial Contributor Award: Luzuko Dilima
  • Emerging Filmmaker Award: Vusi Africa Sindane
  • Best TV Presenter: Entle Bizana (Hectic on 3