The streets came alive as SAMA26 threw a party

06 August 2020
The party was taken to the streets on the third night of the SAMA26 extravaganza as top tier musicians received their accolades and performers entertained.
SAMA26 Article Billboard 1600 x 800

Kicking off the proceedings was the cool Yanga Chief who partnered with the skilful 25K in the ultimate hip hop fashion, cruising down the street as they flowed and dropped rhymes. Yanga Chief would later take home the hotly contested Best Hip Hop Album award for his project Becoming A Popstar. He dedicated his win to his late father.

Mlindo the Vocalist was honoured as the Best Selling Artist for his debut album Emakhaya, while popular gospel ensemble Joyous Celebration continued their domination in the Best Selling DVD category when they secured it for Volume 23 Live at CTICC.

DJ Tira beat stiff competition to be declared the winner of Best Kwaito Album for Ikhenani. Kurt Darren picked up the Beste Pop Album award for #Partyjiedier and Matthew Mole took Best Pop Album for Ghost.

Dan Tshanda’s widow Sylvia and their three sons accepted the Lifetime Achievement Award on his behalf. She dedicated it to Tshanda’s fans all over the world.

Blaq Diamond added their star wattage as they performed their hit Love Letter surrounded by ferns in a deserted garden in line with lockdown rules and social distancing norms.

The fashion for the night didn’t disappoint as hosts Dineo Langa and Donovan Goliath put on their finest threads. The actress looked resplendent in a canary yellow off-the-shoulder jump suit by Ara Emporium and the comedian in a dazzling tribal print suit from Imprint. 

Presenters were DJ Sabby from YFM who spoke from his lounge, Stephanie B joined from her bedroom while Kid Fonque linked from his studio surrounded by LPs. 

It was laugh-a-minute in the MyMuze reaction crew corner as gospel legend Rebecca Malope regaled comedian Skhumba Hlophe and radio personality DJ Ankletap, keeping them on the edge of their seats with her wisecracks. The crew was joined by artist Supta.

Voting lines for the Music Video of the Year Award closed tonight. Fans can still vote for the Record of the Year until tomorrow night on mymuze.com or by SMSing the artists code to 33444 or dialling *120*273# and following the prompts. SMS charged at R1,50 per sms, USSD charged at 20c per 20 seconds.

Nhlanhla Sibisi, RiSA CEO applauded the winners: “It was yet another memorable episode with worthy winners and we extend our congratulations to them. We remain thankful for the support from our sponsors, partners and the general public that continue to make the SAMA the most sought after music accolade in our country.”

Rehana Hassim, Executive Head for Digital & Lifestyle at Vodacom said: “It is such an exciting time for Vodacom and My Muze to be part of the first ever digital version of the SAMAs. We are excited for the winners of tonight’s show who have displayed excellence in their industry and that we can celebrate with them all whilst staying safe at home. This is in line with our purpose of connecting people for a better future.”

Nomsa Philiso, the director of Local Entertainment Channels at M-Net said: “Once again  the SAMAs have honoured and celebrated our talented musicians in a manner that was in tune and fitting for the calibre of their talent. Congratulations to all the winners under this theme #ForThaStreets, which was dominated by fan favourites and best-selling songs and albums’’

For the fourth night of SAMA26, under the subtheme of #ForThaCraft, stream the show on mymuze.com by Vodacom or tune into Mzansi Magic DSTV channel 161 at 9.30pm tomorrow.

#ForThaStreets Winners

Best Kwaito Album: Ikhenani by DJ Tira

Beste Pop Album: #Partytjiedier by Kurt Darren

Best Pop Album: Ghost by Mathew Mole

Best Hip Hop Album: Becoming A Popstar by Yanga Chief

Best Selling DVD: Volume 23 Live at CTICC by Joyous Celebration

Best Selling Artist: Mlindo the Vocalist for Emakhaya

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dan Tshanda