How the SAFTA winners are selected

05 May 2021
Find out more about the selection and judging process.
SAFTAS 15 LOGO final black article

It isn't easy to select winners. This is how the process works. 

Click on the PDF to see the larger version: 

Themed “Still Shining”, this year’s celebration will be a simulcast on Mzansi Magic and S3 on 22 May 2021 from 19:00 – a first for the SAFTAs.

Again, the power to decide the winners of the Best Presenter and the Most popular Soap/Telenovela categories is in the hands of the public. To vote for their favourite in these two categories, viewers will need to dial *120*32020# and follow the prompts on their screens. Voting lines open on 30 April 2021 and will close on 19 May 2021. Voters will be charged R1.50 per minute.

The public can vote for the following:

Best TV presenter:

  1. Devi Sankaree Govender, The Devi Show
  2. Dineo Ranaka, Yimlo
  3. Entle Bizana, Hectic on 3
  4. Katchie Nzama, Come Again
  5. Katlego Maboe, Tropika Island of Treasure Curacao
  6. Palesa Tembe, Afternoon Express
  7. Waldimar Pelser, KN Verslag in gesprek

Most popular soap/telenovela:

  1. 7de Laan
  2. Arendsvlei
  3. Binnelanders
  4. Durban Gen
  5. Getroud Met Rugby      
  6. Gomora
  7. Imbewu
  8. Isibaya
  9. Isono
  10. Legacy
  11. Lithapo
  12. Rhythm City
  13. Scandal!
  14. Skeem Saam
  15. Suidooster       
  16. The Queen
  17. The River
  18. Uzalo


You can find us on @MNet on Twitter, and @MNet on Facebook, or @mnettv on Instagram.