Gavin Edwards Releases Debut Album

21 October 2016
Gavin Edwards releases debut album Silver Skies.
gavin edwards

Today sees the official release of The Voice SA Season 1 runner-up, Gavin Edwards’, debut album Silver Skies. The release of the album comes one day before the final open auditions for the second season of M-Net’s hit singing competition at Sasani Studios in Johannesburg tomorrow (Saturday, 22 October).

The album was produced by Denholm Harding at the legendary B-Sharp Studios, together with JP De Stefani and Harshn Reddy. Gavin sourced songs from writers all over the world - as well as one of his own originals - to compile the track listing of the album. The album also features two covers, Say Something, with the sublime vocals of Karlien van Jaarsveld – sister of Gavin’s The Voice SA coach Bobby van Jaarsveld – as well as The Climb. The album was recorded in four weeks in-between Gavin’s shows across the country.

“I wanted to keep the album upbeat whilst also keeping the lyrics motivational, and make sure that whatever song went onto the album, was exactly the sound I wanted. I also definitely wanted to make an album for radio; it’s all about putting out something which radio listeners will love and that people would want to hear pumping through their radio on their way to work,” says the singer about his debut album.

Gavin chose Silver Skies as the name of the album because it was one of his favourite tracks on the album and is about “being in a place where you’re doing great, feeling amazing and always chasing after silver skies.” When recording the vocals, Gavin made sure to limit the takes to one or two to ensure his voice kept the live raw emotion he is known for, imperfections and all.

“I couldn’t be more excited and proud of this album! I’m also a little nervous because I really hope that people will love it as much as I do. It’s filled with upbeat songs, some funky tunes and a couple of power ballads with a production which is out of this world.”

Gavin’s success comes in the wake of his achievements on The Voice SA Season 1. Fittingly, this runner-up of the show auditioned in Johannesburg, just as hundreds of musicians will be doing tomorrow. So, if you have an excellent voice, are over the age of 18 and are an unsigned singer, come along to auditions at Sasani Studios any time from 08:30AM. Remember to bring your ID with you, as well as some refreshments and protection from the weather, should you have to stand in a queue.

For more information, visit www.mnet.tv/thevoice or follow the conversations and live updates around auditions on Twitter @VoiceSA / #TheVoiceSA

SILVER SKIES Track Listing:

  1.     One Day
  2.     Sparks
  3.     Silver Skies
  4.     Say Something (ft. Karlien van Jaarsveld)
  5.     Beautiful Morning
  6.     Riot
  7.     The Climb
  8.     Only Lovers Left Alive
  9.     Hostage
  10.     Last Call