MTN8 Trophy.

Don’t miss the winner takes all MTN8 Final between SuperSport United and Cape Town City live from the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban on Saturday 14 October 2017.

The tournament payoff line ‘Wafa Wafa’ perhaps sums it up best – loosely translated it means ‘Do or Die’.

With an R8 million winner-take-all booty on the line it will be, literally speaking, exactly that when SuperSport United clash with Cape Town City in the final at the iconic stadium in Durban (Kick-off at 19:00).

Tune in for the live action from Durban on Saturday 14 October 18:00 on SS4 (DStv Channel 204 streaming live on DStv Now). Highlights on DStv Catch Up later.

The talent-laden Citizens (City), a club born out of the sale of the now defunct Mpumalanga Aces Premiership franchise just 18 months ago, are certainly no longer just the ‘new kids on the block’.

That much they proved by finishing third in their maiden top flight league campaign last season and capturing the Telkom Knockout title with a 2-1 victory over United under then head coach Eric Tinkler.

It isn’t unreasonable therefore, to refer to the team, also known as the Blue and Gold Army, as the ‘House that Tinkler built’.

This time though the architect of their instant success, Tinkler, will be on the opposing bench, having been engaged by Matsatsantsa in July to replace outgoing Stuart Baxter.

In total contrast, it is virgin territory for City’s head coach Benni McCarthy in his first spell as a top flight PSL manager, but he has already won the hearts of the fans by leading the club to the final.

City went one better this season and managed to avenge their semi-final loss to Bidvest Wits last term.

With a star-studded line-up at his disposal, Tinkler, too made no secret of the fact he wanted to start his coaching spell at the three-time league champions with some silverware to show.

Potential Game Changers:

Cape Town City – Teko Modise, Ayanda Patosi, Lehlohonolo Majoro, Aubrey Ngoma, Victor Obinna.

SuperSport United - Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Bradley Grobler, Dean Furman, Thabo Mnyamane, Jeremy Brockie, Kingston Nkhatha (Zim), Sifiso Myeni.

The Road to the Final:


Sundowns 0 - Mburg Utd 1

Kaizer Chiefs 0 - SuperSport Utd 1

CT City 1 - Polokwane City 0

Bidvest Wits 3 (2) - Golden Arrows 2 (2) a.e.t


Bidvest Wits 1  - CT City 2

Mburg Utd  0  - SuperSport Utd 2

CT City 1 - Bidvest Wits 0

SuperSport Utd 1 - Mburg Utd 1


MTN 8 Roll of Honour (Champions):

2008 – Kaizer Chiefs

2009 – Golden Arrows

2010 – Orlando Pirates

2011 – Orlando Pirates

2012 – Moroka Swallows

2013 – Platinum Stars

2014 – Kaizer Chiefs

2015 – Ajax Cape Town

2016 – Bidvest Wits

Note: The country’s top 8 competition has been played since 1974 and was previously known as the SAA Supa 8 and BP Top 8 prior to that.

Catch more of your favourite sporting fixtures via live video streaming on DStv Now online or on your Android or iOs device. DStv Now can be accessed online at or through the app for tablets and smartphones. The app is free to download on the Google Play Store or Apple App Store and is available to all DStv customers. Live channels and DStv Catch Up content are currently only available to DStv PremiumDStv Compact Plus and DStv Compact customers and data costs will apply when streaming content.

By Trevor Cramer