An image of Seyi Shay who is nominated for Best Female at the 2015 MTV Africa Music Awards.

Cassper Nyovest, Seyi Shay, Diamond Platnumz and Black Motion share their excitement about 2015 MTV Africa Music Awards nominations.

The 2015 MTV Africa Music Awards nominees have been revealed.  

We were in on the action when a total of 70 nominees, across 13 different categories were revealed at a star-studded event held at Harem in Johannesburg with amazing performances by Bucie, Seyi Shay, Black Motion, Diamond Platnumz and Black Motion. 

The fiercely contested Best Female category has Bucie (SA), Busiswa (SA), Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania), Yemi Alade (Nigeria) and Seyi Shay (Nigeria) battling it out. 

Watch as Seyi Shay talks about her nomination and performing at the event:

Also hotly contested is the Best Male act with AKA (South Africa), Wizkid (Nigeria), Davido (Nigeria), Sarkodie (Ghana) and Diamond (Tanzania). Diamond also received two other nominations for Best Collaboration and Best Live. 

Watch the video and listen to Diamond as he shares his excitement about being nominated:

South African hip-hop artist Cassper Nyovest was pleased with his three nominations and said he felt honoured to be in one of the major categories, Song of the Year for his hit track Doc Shebeleza. In this category, he is up against other heavyweights including K.O (SA), Euphonik (SA), Wizkid (Nigeria), Sauti Sol (Kenya), Mavins (Nigeria) and Toofan (Togo), among others. 

Watch as he describes how he feels about the nod and shares his plan to campaign for votes:

Black Motion, who showcased their dance skills at the #MAMA2015 nominees reception in Jo'burg, have been nominated for Best Group and shared their gratitude in the video below: 

The MTV Africa Music Awards will return to Durban on Saturday, 18 July and will be broadcast live across Africa from the Inkosi Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre on Saturday, 18 July at 21:00 CAT on MTV Base (DStv channel 322), MTV (DStv channel 130) and BET (DStv channel 129). The show will also be transmitted worldwide on partner stations and content platforms including BET International from 18 July.