Justin Bieber.

The 2016 MTV EMAs will air live from on MTV (130) and MTV Base (322) from the Ahoy Rotterdam in Rotterdam, The Netherlands.

African stars Alikiba (Tanzania), Black Coffee (South Africa), Cassper Nyovest (South Africa), Olamide (Nigeria) and Wizkid (Nigeria) have been nominated for Best African Act at the 2016 MTV EMAs, MTV’s annual music awards spectactular that celebrates the hottest artists from around the world.

The 2016 MTV EMAs will air live from on MTV (130) and MTV Base (322) on Sunday 6 November at 22:00 CAT from the Ahoy Rotterdam in Rotterdam, The Netherlands.

Commented Alex Okosi, Senior Vice President & Managing Director, Viacom International Media Networks (VIMN) Africa: “It is wonderful to see African artists nominated at the 2016 MTV EMAs on the same platform as global superstars of the calibre of Rihanna, Beyoncé, Drake, Kanye West and more.

In other categories, cultural icons Beyoncé and Justin Bieber led the pack with five nominations each. Superstar Adele followed closely behind with four nods, alongside Best Rock nominees Coldplay, Best New Act nominee Lukas Graham and Best Male candidate Shawn Mendes. Rihanna and Drake earned three nods each, including a Best Song nomination for their hit collaboration WorkAdele’s record-shattering hit HelloJustin Bieber’s electronic pop track SorryLukas Graham’s soul-pop ballad 7 Years and the Seeb remix of Mike Posner’s dance smash I Took A Pill In Ibiza also earned nominations for Best Song.

To celebrate a year of international artistry in a digital era that inspires creative connection between artists and fans more than ever, MTV unveiled the Best Song nominees in a vocal cover medley by Spanish rising artist/Internet sensation Leroy Sanchez. The reveal of the video was broadcast across MTV’s digital platforms and a coalition of media partners.



See below for the full list of nominees:

Best African Act


Black Coffee

Cassper Nyovest



Best Song     
Adele - Hello
Justin Bieber - Sorry
Lukas Graham - 7 Years
Mike Posner - I Took A Pill In Ibiza (Seeb Remix)
Rihanna ft. Drake - Work

Best Video

Beyoncé - Formation

Coldplay - Up&Up

Kanye West - Famous

Tame Impala - The Less I Know the Better

The Weeknd ft. Daft Punk - Starboy                    

Best Female  
Lady Gaga     

Best Male      
Calvin Harris
Justin Bieber  
Shawn Mendes          
The Weeknd  

Best Live       
Green Day     
twenty one pilots        

Best New      
Bebe Rexha
Lukas Graham           
The Chainsmokers    
Zara Larsson  

Best Pop       
Ariana Grande
Fifth Harmony
Justin Bieber  
Selena Gomez           
Shawn Mendes          

Best Rock     
Green Day
Red Hot Chili Peppers           

Best Alternative       
Kings of Leon 
Tame Impala  
The 1975        
twenty one pilots        

Best Hip Hop
Kanye West   
Wiz Khalifa     

Best Electronic        
Calvin Harris  
David Guetta  
Major Lazer    
Martin Garrix  

Best Push     
Alessia Cara  
Bebe Rexha   
Charlie Puth   
Dua Lipa
Elle King
Jack Garratt
Jonas Blue     
Lukas Graham           

Biggest Fans
Ariana Grande
Justin Bieber
Lady Gaga     
Shawn Mendes          

Best World Stage     

Duran Duran - Piazza Del Duomo, Milan (2015)
Ellie Goulding - Piazza Del Duomo, Milan (2015)
Jess Glynne - Isle of MTV, Malta (2016)
Martin Garrix - Isle of MTV, Malta (2015)
One Republic - MTV Evolution, Philippines (2016)
Tinie Tempah  - MTV Crashes, Plymouth (2015)
Tomorrowland - Belgium (2016)
Wiz Khalifa - Isle of MTV, Malta (2016)

Voting for the nominated artists, including the Best African Act nominees is now live at mtvema.com until 6 November at 00:59 CAT.

Social voting categories Biggest Fans and Best Look will go live at a later date, with full details and voting procedures to be announced.