SportPesa Premier League Awards

The 2016 SportPesa Premier League Awards held last week at Safari Park Hotel saw a new crop of young footballers clinch the top coveted awards. The awards ceremony which hosted by former Simba Super Soccer host Chiko Lawi with various sports dignitaries in attendance including president of the Football Kenya Federation, Nick Mwendwa.

For Kenneth Muguna (MVP and Midfielder of the Year winner) and Eric Ouma (New Player of the Year), this was their first season in the premier league. This is what they had to say about their 2016 success:



Full list of winners

Team Manager of the Year – George Opondo, Tusker FC

Fairplay Team – Kakamega Homeboyz

Assistant Referee of the Year – Gilbert Cheruiyot

Referee of the Year – Anthony Ogwayo

Goalkeeper of the Year – Patrick Matasi, Posta Rangers

Defender of the Year – Jockins Atudo, Posta Rangers

Midfielder of the Year – Kenneth Muguna, Western Stima

Fairplay Player – Ali Bai, Kakamega Homeboyz

New Player of the Year – Eric Ouma, Gor Mahia

Coach of the Year – Paul Nkata, Tusker FC

Golden Boot – John Makwata, Ulinzi Stars

Most Valuable Player – Kenneth Muguna, Western Stima