Gor Mahia striker Michael Olunga

Eight players shortlisted for KPL/SJAK Most Valuable Player.

It is tough being a football player, even tougher if you are Gor Mahia's Michael Olunga or AFC Leopard's Bernard Mang'oli. When you are this good a player, fans expect more from you, home and away. Their excellent performances in the KPL this season have earned them, among other six players, nominations for Most Valuable Player category in the 2015 KPL/SJAK Footballer of the Year Awards.

Also nominated are Gor Mahia's Meddie Kagere and Karim Nzigiyimana who face Tusker FC's Jesse WereBandari's David King'atua, City Star hit man Ebrimah Sanneh and Ulinzi Stars' John Mark Makwata. The eight nominees will be competing for a cash prize of Sh1 million (and a 42 inch LG TV), the biggest cash award ever given in Kenya's sporting arena.

You want to see these MVPs in action? Join Jesse Were and Michael Olunga as Kenya's Harambee Stars takes on Uganda's Cranes on Sunday 22 November at 17:00 on SS9E in the DStv Senior Challenge Cup.

The number is expected to be reduced to five early December before the Foya gala slated for 9 December reveals the eventual winner.

The race for golden boot and golden glove award will be based on the highest number of goals scored and the number of clean sheets kept by goalkeepers. Both awards attract a cash award of Sh500 000 and 42 inch LG TV screens.

Dead ball specialist Noah Abich of Mathare United leads the chase for Best Defenders alongside Bandari's Mohamed Sharrif, Musa Mohamed, Haroun Shakava and Karim Nzigiyimana of Gor Mahia; Eugene Asike of TuskerEdwin Wafula of AFC Leopards; and Collins Shivachi of Sofapaka, Ulinzi Stars’ Geoffrey Kokoyo and Kapilima Kanamuli of Ushuru FC.

They get worked up, they shout and move around nervously - all for the overall good of the team. And so it's only fair that the coaches are also not left out in the Foya nominations as six coaches - including Gor Mahia's tactician Frank Nutall, his equally capable Ulinzi Stars counterpart Robert Matano and five other coaches - will battle it out in Coach of the Year category.

Another category to look out for is Young/New Player of the Year, which features promising under-23 players making debuts in the SPL.


Check out the full list of nominees:


Karim Nzigiyimama - Gor Mahia

Musa Mohamed - Gor Mahia

Haroun Shakava – Gor Mahia 

Eugene Asike – Tusker 

Edwin Wafula – AFC Leopards 

Noah Abich – Mathare United 

Collins Shivachi – Sofapaka 

Mohamed Sharif – Bandari 

Geoffrey Kokoyo – Ulinzi Stars 

Kapilima Kanamuli - Ushuru



Bernard Mang'oli – AFC Leopards 

Khalid Aucho - Gor Mahia

Collins Okoth – Gor Mahia 

Eric Johanna – Mathare United 

David King'atua – Bandari FC 

Kevin Kimani – Bandari 

George Mandela – Muhoroni Youth 

Kevin Amwayi – Ulinzi Stars


New Young Player:

Ebrimah Sanneh – City Stars 

Eston Esiye – Western Stima 

George Mandela – Muhoroni Youth 

Alphonce Ndonye – Mathare United 

Farid Mohamed - Bandari 

Paul Michika – Muhoroni 

Louis Masika - City Stars

Samuel Wailer – City Stars


Coach of the Year:

Frank Nuttall – Gor Mahia 

Robert Matano – Ulinzi Stars 

Twahir Muhidin – Bandari 

Paul Nkata – Muhoroni Youth 

Ken Kenyatta – Ushuru 

Zdravko Logarusic – AFC Leopards 

Stanley Okumbi – Mathare United 

Henry Omino – Western Stima


Most Valuable Player:

Michael Olunga - Gor Mahia

Meddie Kagere - Gor Mahia

Karim Nzigiyimana – Gor Mahia 

Jesse Were – Tusker 

David Kingatua – Bandari 

Bernard Mangoli – AFC Leopards 

John Makwata – Ulinzi Stars 

Ebrima Sanneh – City Stars


Goalkeeper of the Year:

Boniface Oluoch – Gor Mahia 

Jairus Adira – Chemelil 

James Saruni – Ulinzi Stars 

Farouk Shikalo – Muhoroni Youth 

Wilson Obungu – Bandari 

Allan Owiny – Sony 

Gabriel Andika – Western Stima 

David Okelo - Sofapaka


Fair Play Player of the Year:

John Baraza – Sofapaka 

Vincent Nyaberi – Thika nited 

Michael Olunga – Gor Mahia 

Shaban Kenga – Bandari

Alfred Onyango – Sony Sugar 

Humphrey Mieno – Tusker

Gabriel Andika – Western Stima


New Centre Referee of the Year:

Michael Iluve 

Judith Muhonja 

Raymond Onyango 

Juma Turke 

Duncan Mudaki


New Assistant Referee of the Year:

Stephen Adeya 

Eric Sadera 

Richard Keya 

Judy Wamoro 

Michael Maru 

Gabriel Abidha 

Beth Wambui 

George Mwangi


Team Manager of the Year:

William Muluya – Mathare United 

Jolawi Obondo – Gor Mahia 

Nevile Pudo – City Stars

David Mwangi – Ulinzi 

Moses Jobita – Western Stima 

Stock Ouma – Sony Sugar


Fair Play Team of the Year:

Gor Mahia 

Western Stima 


Mathare United 

Sony Sugar 

AFC Leopards