Hollywood actor Samuel L. Jackson

Grey's Anatomy actor Jesse Williams to receive Humanitarian Award for Civil Rights efforts

BET (129) has revealed that world-renowned actor and film producer Samuel L Jackson will be honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 16th annual BET Awards on Sunday 26 June 2016. In addition, well-respected actor and activist Jesse Williams will receive the evening’s Humanitarian Award.

Samuel L Jackson is a critically acclaimed and award-winning actor recognised for his roles in hit films such as Pulp Fiction, Star Wars, Django Unchained, and his most recent roles as Nick Fury in Marvel’s Cinematic Universe and Major Marquis Warren in The Hateful Eight. To date, the Academy Award and Golden Globe nominee has appeared in well over 100 films and will next be seen in The Legend of Tarzan and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.    

Jesse Williams is an actor and activist best known for his role as Dr. Jackson Avery on the popular series Grey’s Anatomy. Williams uses his celebrity platform to shine a light on the injustices of our society and became an outspoken advocate of the Black Lives Matter movement. During Ferguson, he stood with thousands of protestors to make sure that unarmed teen Mike Brown’s death was not in vain and used every outlet at his disposal to make sure that the message behind the Black Lives Matter movement was heard. Writing articles for CNN and The Huffington Post expressing his frustration with the system, Williams has proven to be a true pioneer of our generation and is a refreshing new face of activism during a time of crisis in the USA.

Hosted by Anthony Anderson and Tracee Ellis Ross, the BET Awards will include performances by Usher, Bryson Tiller, Desiigner, Future, Alicia Keys and Maxwell with special performances in honour of the late pop icon Prince by Sheila E., Janelle Monae, D’Angelo, The Roots and more. The star power continues as Gabrielle Union, Nate Parker, DJ Khaled and many others will take the stage as presenters during the 16th anniversary of the annual highly-anticipated televised event.

The BET Awards premieres on BET (129) on Tuesday 28 June at 19:00.