The M-Net logo

Good news for Game of Thrones fans!

M-Net can confirm that the brand new seventh season of the much-talked about and highly acclaimed series will start on Monday 17 July on M-Net at 03:00 CAT, with the Primetime airing at 21:30 CAT.

Last week, HBO released a titillating teaser of the new season from which one thing was certainly very clear: the great war is here.

Based on the popular book series, A Song of Ice and Fire, by George RR Martin, this hit Emmy® and Golden Globe-winning fantasy series chronicles an epic struggle for power in a vast and violent kingdom. Production of the seventh season will be based in Northern Ireland, while additional portions will be filmed in Spain and Iceland. Season 7 directors will include Mark Mylod, Jeremy Podeswa, Matt Shakman and Alan Taylor. Locations for shooting in Spain will include Sevilla, Caceres, Almodovar del Rio, Santiponce, Zumaia and Bermeo.

Game of Thrones received 23 Primetime Emmy® nominations, the most of any nominee for the third year in a row. This year’s nominations include Outstanding Drama Series, two for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series (Peter Dinklage, Kit Harington), three for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series (Emilia Clarke, Lena Headey, Maisie Williams), Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series (Max von Sydow), two for Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series (Miguel Sapochnik, Jack Bender) and Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series (David Benioff and DB Weiss).

Members of the ensemble cast for the sixth season included Emmy® and Golden Globe winner Peter Dinklage, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Lena Headey, Emilia Clarke, Aidan Gillen, Kit Harington, Diana Rigg, Sophie Turner, Maisie Williams and Jonathan Pryce. Season 6 credits: executive producers, David Benioff, DB Weiss, Carolyn Strauss, Frank Doelger, Bernadette Caulfield; co-executive producers, Guymon Casady, Vince Gerardis, George RR Martin.

For more information, visit . Follow M-Net on Twitter @MNet (#GameofThrones #GoTS7 #MNet101) and Facebook