Logo  for the 2017 Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards

The Eko Hotel in Lagos, Nigeria, was once again the centre of attention as Africa’s best and brightest talents gathered to celebrate the fifth edition of the prestigious Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards.

The evening was lit up with performances by renowned musicians Timi Dakolo, Lira and Waje. Other performances included The Voice Nigeria winner Arese’s tribute to departed actors, and the stunning renditions by other Voice alumni Chike and DNA. A special highlight of the evening was the performance by dancers from the stable of Bolanle Austen-Peters Productions.

At the end of the evening, some of Africa’s biggest titles took top honours whilst there were surprises in other categories.

The winners are:

Best Shortfilm
Ogo Okpue - Cat Face

Best Soundtrack/Original Score (Movie/TV Series)
Michael "The Truth" Ogunlade - The Encounter

Best Sound Editor (Movie/TV Series)
Guy Steer - Vaya

Best Picture Editor (Movie/TV Series)
Nnodim Chigozie and Paula Peterson - Oloibiri

Best Costume Designer
Pat Egwurube - 76

Best Make-up Artist (Movie/TV Series)
Hakeem Onilogbo Ajibola and Perekeme Odon - Oloibiri

Best Art Director (Movie/TV Series)
Pat Nebo - 76

Best Writer (Movie/TV Series)
Craig Freimond, Tshabalira Lebakeng, Anthony Mafela, David Majoka, Madoda Ntuli, Harriet Perlman and Robbie Thorpe - Vaya

Best Cinematographer (Movie/TV Series)
Lancer Gewer - Happiness is a Four-Letter Word

Best Lighting Designer (Movie/TV Series)
Elliot Sewape - 93 Days

Best Documentary
Uga Carlini - Alison

Best Actor in a Drama
David Jones David

Best Actress in a Drama
Meg Otanwa

Best Drama

Best Actress in a Comedy
Deborah Anungwa

Best Actor in a Comedy
Samuel Ajibola

Best Comedy
The Johnson

Best Movie (South Africa)
Elvis Chuks - All About Love

Best Movie (East Africa)
Sarika Hemi Lakhani - Kati Kati

Best Movie (West Africa)
Rogers Ofime - Oloibiri

Best Television Series
Funke Akindele - Jenifas Diary

Best Indigenous Language (Movie/TV Series)
Swahili - Daudi Otieno Anguka - Zilizala

Best Indigenous Language (Movie/TV Series)
Igbo - Crey Ahanonu - Amonye-Bu-Onye

Best Indigenous Language (Movie/TV Series)
Hausa - Tijjani Shehu Yahaya - Yaki Da Zuciya

Best Indigenous Language (Movie/TV Series)
Yoruba - Abiodun Jimoh, Jumoke Odetola - Somewhere in the Dark

Best Actor in a Comedy (Movie/TV Series)
Imeh Bishop Umoh - The Boss Is Mine

Best Actress in a Comedy (Movie/TV Series)
Funke Akindele - Jenifas Diary

Best Actor in a Drama (Movie/TV Series)
Sambasa Nzeribe - Slow Country

Best Actress in a Drama (Movie/TV Series)
Rita Dominic - 76

Best Supporting Actor in a Drama (Movie/TV Series)
Rotimi Salami - Just Not Married

Best Supporting Actress in a Drama (Movie/TV Series)
Ebele Okaro Onyuike - Four One Love

Best Director (Movie)
Izu Ojukwu - 76

Best Overall Movie
Adonijah Owiriwa and Izu Ojukwu - 76